Connecting people and institutions
to strengthen analysis and decision making
FSIN > About > Who we are


FSIN Secretariat

The FSIN Secretariat is hosted by WFP and staffed by FAO, IFPRI and WFP experts. It supports the community of practice and ensures overall implementation of the activities. It is composed of:

FSIN Steering Committee

The FSIN steering committee oversees allocation of funding and overall implementation of the agreed FSIN work plan. It is composed of senior representatives of the 3 organizations leading the initiative:

  • Arif Husain, Chief Economist and Deputy Director, Policy Programme and Innovation Division - Analysis and Nutrition Service, WFP
  • Luca RussoSenior Economist, FAO
  • John McHarris, Senior VAM Advisor, WFP
  • Maximo ToreroDirector of Markets, Trade and Institutions Division, IFPRI
  • Pietro GennariChief Statistician and Director FAO Statistics Division
  • Teunis van Rheenen, Coordinator for Partnerships, IFPRI

FSIN Advisory Board

The FSIN Advisory Board provides strategic advice. It is composed of selected country representatives, donors, regional institutions, academics and international agencies:

  • Baba Dioum - Chairman, General Coordinator, Conference of Ministers of Agriculture of WCA (CMA/AOC) and Team Leader, CAADP Pillar II, CMA/AOC - Senegal
  • Dina Esposito, Food for Peace Director, USAID - USA
  • Maria Paris Ketting, Head of Policy and Planning, EC - Brussels
  • Michael Roberto Kenyi Legge, Minister,  Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Central Equatorial State - Republic of South Sudan 
  • Patricia Palma, Director of PRESANCA, SICA - El Salvador
  • Thomas StaalSr. Deputy Assistant Administrator, DCHA Bureau, USAID

We welcome your feedback.
For general comments and inquiries contact